Zucchini Crust Pizza

Why in the WORLD have I only just discovered vegetable-crusted pizza recipes? I started seeing different variations of this recipe pop up on Pinterest a few months ago and then my Mom sent me recipe of cauliflower pizza crust and so I knew I had to get on this band-wagon. That was until I bought the Moosewood Cookbook a month ago and discovered that, like most things, Zucchini crusted pizza has been around since at least 1977 when the cookbook was published. Well, I’ll be!

I digress…

I’m not going to lie to you, there is no comparison to the real thing because pizza is life and if I could eat it all the time I would, but I can’t, because my ass. Don’t go into this thing thinking it’s going to be like delicious, cheesy, crusty, greasy za. However, this is a GREAT alternative and a really pleasant experience once you realize that 2 hours after the fact you aren’t curled up on the couch holding your stomach because you’re lactose intolerant and you “decided to live a little.”

I highly, HIGHLY recommend the Moosewood Cookbook but if you’re looking for a recipe right away, I used this one and it worked perfectly.

IMG_1010

The ingredients. Woah, wine… how’d you sneak in there!

IMG_1013

The crust pre-oven.

IMG_1014

The delicious, finished product. The perfect size for one (the bf has been away for work for a while).

For my toppings I used tomato paste as the sauce, and then piled on a whole tomato, sautéed mushrooms, onion and garlic, basil and fresh mozzarella (but only a bit because of the thing I just told you about). It was a really yummy treat and 100% vegetarian.

Give it a try and let me know how it goes! Hope you have a great week.

xo Ali

PS. New video! The “TMI Tag!” No, you don’t need to know all of this about me. :)

This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

