Make it Count

3319eaeabd2dea62f34aff54f6175f73

 

*image

I always love the beginning of a new year. The prospect of starting anew is so liberating and scary at the same time. The pressure of a new year’s resolution prevents me from making one, but this year was different.

I didn’t make a resolution for the new year, but for life. Cheesy, I know, but I want to make this life of mine count. I don’t want to sit back and work at a job that I kind of like, but still dread going back to every Monday morning. I don’t want to keep spending money on things I truly don’t need. I really don’t want to wake up in the morning and say negative things about my body and listen to my friends and family say negative things about theirs. (it’s about to get serious ya’ll)

So I’m not.

This year, I’m going to work HARD on my online life to hopefully, on day, turning it into a dream job. A big thank you to those who follow me on any form of social media and like/share/comment/etc.

Though I’d never describe myself as materialistic, I certainly do love to shop. This year, I want to focus on the things I need, not the things I want. I want to clean out my closet to discover forgotten pieces and donate the rest. I want to clean my home of things that I have 4 of. I want to spend less.

This is a big one. We all have our insecurities and they are all equally terrible in our eyes. I’m here to tell you that they aren’t and no one actually cares! We do this thing to ourselves where we look in a mirror and PICK APART OUR BODIES! For what reason? I really have no clue. This epidemic of self-consciousness can easily be blamed on the media, but we are at fault too. Criticism towards others comes from our own mouths too and enough is enough. We have got to bring each other and ourselves up instead of down and I’m starting this new year doing just that. Every time I look in the mirror and begin to think negatively, I stop, and turn the insult into a compliment. And yes, I will actually look in the mirror and say “That ASS girl!!!” Also, it helps to get a group text going with 3 of your most uplifting, inspiring lady friends. The love and soul-filling words we exchange back and forth is necessary for life. You know who you are.

Just try it.

SO. Here’s a big ‘ol cheers to the new year and making every year after this one count!

xo Ali

PS. I’m slowly but surely putting up vlogs of our Christmas in Mexico, if you’d like to check those out! 

This entry was posted in Life, Up Next and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Make it Count

Leave a Reply

