Workplace Woes: Negativity

whole lot of lovely

Have you told someone lately that they are lovely? Granted, some people aren’t so lovely, but those who are need to hear it. It never gets old.

I’ve had a lot of different types of jobs in my life, so I’ve shared company with a wide variety of people and personalities. I’m grateful to have had so many jobs and co-workers that I’ve been able to learn so many things from, but there’s one type of person I have a hard time embracing – a negative Nancy.

I don’t know about you, but when I’m at work for sometimes 8+ hours a day, I like to keep things pretty jovial. I get my work done and of course I am serious when necessary, but for the most part, I tend to be pretty happy at work. This happiness is challenged, however, when there’s negativity in the office.

Life is challenging sometimes, but for the most part I have it pretty darn good. So when I come into work in the morning at 8:30am and a co-worker is already bitching and complaining about something, I make a decision right then and there to tune them out. Ignoring them completely isn’t the answer, but making sure their outbursts don’t affect your mood can be tricky. It takes a little self-talk and a few reminders of the wonderful things in your own life. I have found the most effective way of ridding this negativity, is to compliment others and extend your good mood outward. It not only makes you feel good, but reminds that negative Nancy that the world isn’t ending and they shouldn’t act like it is.

xo Ali

 

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

