Looking for Alaska by John Green

Before you read on, I should warn you that there will be spoilers. Many, in fact. So if you want to read Looking for Alaska, bookmark this baby and come back to me later.

Carrying on.

I’ll start with John Green. I first discovered him and his brother Hank on YouTube and immediately grasped onto the community they have created, Nerdfiteria. Together they promote education and learning, being informed of events across the globe that will most certainly affect their everyday lives. They are musicians, writers, educators, entertainers. They are doing wonderful things for the youth of today and I’m grateful for that for the sake of everyone on this earth. John Green writes for young adults like no other young adult authour I have come across. He does not dumb anything down and use language suitable for 6 year olds. He uses real words. Words that I had to look up in a dictionary… (pathetic, but amazing). He treats the people reading his novels with respect because of the intensity and depth of the story. In short, I’m a fan.

On to the novel, shall we?

This book is littered with so many wonderful references to literary greats. Simon Bolivar, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and many many more. I like to think that these references may have sparked interest in young minds and they would explore these great novelists. Here’s hoping, right?

Each character in the novel is a pretty accurate representation of the type of kids in my high school and most others I would presume. Miles, or Pudge as he’s more affectionately known, is like so many quiet, intelligent, totally scrawny but in the cutest way, guys I know. I love that his character feels and thinks so much, not that the others don’t, he experiences an extreme amount of growth for a young man. He, or rather John Green, says some wonderful things at the end of the novel about the human experience and living.

Alaska. She’s a firecracker in the most depressing way. Burdened by the memory of being present at her mother’s death, she feels all kinds of emotions very intensely. Miles is in love with her and her rollercoaster of a personality. HUGE SPOILER. When she dies, his whole world crashes and he begins the process of grieving not only the loss of his first true love, but his friend. I cried. A lot. No shame in that! I felt for these young kids going through this type of grieving no one should have to go through.

The novel is great and sad and hilarious and thought provoking and I think you should read it. I also encourage you not to drink and drive, because it’s stupid and there are other options.

Cheers, friends.

-A

 

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

