The Hunger Games – Review

Overall The Hunger Games is an easy and entertaining read for most age groups. I have a few bones to pick, but I really did enjoy the first book in this trilogy and I’ve moved on to the second book, Catching Fire.

I’ll be honest, it took about 150 pages to get me to that point in a book where you can’t stop reading. I was pretty surprised by this as I expected to be completely obsessed right away (Harry Potter). Maybe this was because of the fact I’m not in the targeted age group or the fact that I had about a million other things going on and couldn’t find the time to be obsessed – who really knows?! Anyway, my favorite part of the book were the scenes in the arena where the games took place and hearing about Katniss’ strategies and survival tactics. In fact, I liked this part much more than the Peeta-Katniss-Gale love triangle. I found that a little cheesy actually, but if you’re going to write a book for hormone raged teens, you’re going to need to add a little boy drama in there (story of my life – can I get an amen?)

The main thing that stuck out to me from the entire novel is the idea that society has a certain control over you. I couldn’t help but think of how big a comment on governmental control this entire book was. I don’t hope to create any angst toward your own government, but it certainly makes you think about the rights and freedoms you have in society and the amount of control you have on your own life – sometimes I swear it feels like none!

Please, please, please (!!) leave your comments if you’ve read the book(s) and I’d love book recommendations too!

-A

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Hunger Games – Review

  1. Erica says:

    I completely agree with the entire societal view from the book. The love triangle was pretty distracting for me thoguh, although it was kind of interesting to watch (well, read) from the perspective of someone who knew it was a sham (in the arena, at least). But Katniss’ obliviousness was pretty naive at some points; let’s face it, no girl is that unaware of attention from the opposite sex, especially when she’s 17. How she couldn’t see that Peeta actually liked her… be real, K-Ev.

    I know you’re probably not finished reading all of the books yet, but I’d be interested to hear what you think of book three. I found the writing in the first two books to be pretty good, but the way the end is written and tied up just seems… unsatisfactory. I’m trying not to say anything too revealing here. And I’m not talking unsatisfactory as in ‘i-wish-she-picked-___-instead-of-___’, I’m talking actual writing. Keep me posted (literally. HA! posting…)!

    Like

  2. You should totally read this other great book I love its called the Da Vinci code and its about Tom Hanks’ brother, Jesus Hanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

